Meet our Rider: Andrew Mcpherson Hogg (NZ)

We love learning a little about our riders and sharing with you so you can cheer them on each August. Andrew’s friend Shelley signed up after watching one of our 2018 riders on the local news, and was excited to join. Andrew and Shelley have been training together. Learn a little more about him in his own words!

Horses

How long have you been riding horses?

Since I was around 5

What is your discipline?

Grew up just using seat of pants riding with no particular discipline however in more recent years now mainly western.

What are your long-term goals for the sport?

This is the first time Ive done any form of endurance riding

Do you have horses? Please tell us about them.

Yes his name is Iceman, hes around 15 hands and 5 years old and was broken in last year in October. I rode him on the last cavalcade in February for a week and have since been training for this event ding between 35 - 70 km per week. I have owned a number of horse over the years as I grew up on a sheep station and we did all our stock work on horse back. We also had two mobs of wild horses which were out on two separate tussock blocks and once a year we rounded them up and had a yearling sale. I played polo for Auckland in the late 1980s/early 1990's before travelling overseas

What is your training plan? (Include horse riding and any other fitness, training, or research points you feel will help you.)

I dont really have a plan. Shelley Ensor and I attempt to get out and do as many kms as we can each week however work committments are always an issue and the weather isnt that kind as we are in winter. Basically were just trying to get saddle fit. Im also back at the gym on the bike and doing core exercises which is positive. I broke a bone in my foot while in South Africa last year and thats ben an on going problem so it will be interesting to see how that holds out.

Gobi Desert Cup

Why are you competing in the Gobi Desert Cup?

I met a rider in 2011 who did the first Derby in Mongolia and since then have been very keen to "tick that box" but had put it in the back of my mind since then. When Shelley was taliking to me about it on the last cavalcade in February I told her I’d always wanted to do a Mongolian endurance race and having having a partner to do it with appealed immensely also.

What are you looking forward to most?

The challenge and pushing my self as Ive always been goal orientated.

What do you feel are your main strengths in competing for the Gobi Desert Cup?

Tenacity, I dont give up easily.

What will be your biggest challenge?

My right knee and the ball of my left foot!

What would you consider a successful ride?

Finishing within the time frames and not stressing my horse to any degree.

Why should others apply for the GDC?

Because its one of the best equine challenges out there!

Is there anything else you'd like to add?

I’m not very techno savvy and only got on Facebook at Shelley’s urging. I am really really looking forward to this adventure and meeting everyone involved.

We wish Andrew the best of luck and can’t wait to see him experience Mongolia!

By Heather Wallace

Camille Champagne