Meet Our Rider: Mathilde Schwartz (New Zealand)

Mathilde_GDC.png

MATHILDE SCHWARZ (FRENCH) riding in New Zealand TEAM as that is where she lives.

Your name, country of residence, and age?

Mathilde Schwarz

Originally from France but leaving in NZ for many years.

25- years old.

 

How long have you been riding horses for? - how many horses do you own?

I have been riding for 20 years. I have got 2 sport horses, 1 pony, 1 Clyde x and 1 mini.

 

What are your main motivations for entering The Gobi Desert Cup?

Fun, adventure, have fun and do something different. Every year I want to do something special so this year is the Gobi Desert Cup.

Also meeting Mongolian people and their horses, and feeling this amazing spirit.

 

What have been your major highlights/achievements in endurance riding/equestrian sports?

37771472_10216712350422447_8942751294779555840_n.jpg

I did two endurance rides but I will do more this month and next.

My biggest achievement will be the relationship I have with my horse Casanova. He is just really special to me, he is not perfect but every moment with him is special. I am doing a lot of free riding with him, no halter, no saddle, nothing. Galloping full speed on the farm.

My other achievement will be winning two pre-training eventing rides with my 5yos this year. I am really excited about our future.

 

 

What are your long-term goals in the sport?

Bringing my five-year-old all the way to 2 stars. And keep going with show hunter with my other one to 1m10.

Keep training and selling ponies.

 

What do you fear the most about the race?

Probably the food, spicy food and I are not friends. ;-)

 

List your current personal best in equestrian sports -  other sports?

37762215_10216712350502449_6230065876364689408_n.jpg

Eventing and also swimming.

 

What do you feel are your main strengths for The Gobi Desert Cup?

  • Determination
  • Adventurous
  • Have been riding pony my whole life.
  • Patience

 

What areas do you feel that you need improvement in before the race?

Orientation!

 

Do you currently do any other kind of training beside riding horses? If yes, provide details.

Running and swimming.

37767189_10216712331781981_2025683233093451776_n.jpg

How much are you riding in preparation for the race, what is your training plan?

Riding one to two horses every day. And every weekend when I'm not competing trying to go for a three-four hour ride.

 

Finally, what would be a successful ride for you?

 To successfully complete the whole race.

 

By Heather Wallace

 

Camille ChampagneComment