Meet Our Rider: Claire McManus

Claire McManus_GDC.png

Your name, country of residence, and age?

Claire McManus, Australia, 36

 

How long have you been riding horses for? - how many horses do you own?

23 years and I own five horses.

 

What are your main motivations for entering The Gobi Desert Cup?

The general experience and riding horses overseas.

 

 

What have been your major highlights/achievements in endurance riding/equestrian sports?

Starting young horses and seeing them develop to become well-rounded equine athletes.

 

What are your long-term goals in the sport?

To compete on horses that I am breeding.

 

What do you fear the most about the race?

Not being fit enough.

 

List your current personal best in equestrian sports -  other sports?

I don't really think I have one!

 

What do you feel are your main strengths for The Gobi Desert Cup?

I am little so it will be easy to jump on the ponies.

 

 

What areas do you feel that you need improvement in before the race?

More time in the saddle.

 

 

Do you currently do any other kind of training beside riding horses? If yes, provide details.

Walk daily, yoga 2-4 times a week, swimming, gym classes.

 

 

How much are you riding in preparation for the race, what is your training plan?

Not a great deal at the moment but intend to be in the saddle five times a week in the upcoming months.

 

 

 

Why do you think people need to sign up to ride The Gobi Desert Cup with you this year?

it will be a great experience in teamwork.

 

Finally, what would be a successful ride for you?

A safe ride will be a success for me.